Thursday, May 5, 2011

Recommendation of Today: Candlemass - King of the Grey Islands

All songs written by Leif Edling

  1. "Prologue" - 0:56
  2. "Emperor of the Void" - 4:29
  3. "Devil Seed" - 5:44
  4. "Of Stars and Smoke" - 5:38
  5. "Demonia 6" - 6:23
  6. "Destroyer" - 7:52
  7. "Man of Shadows" - 6:17
  8. "Clearsight" - 6:52
  9. "The Opal City" - 1:13
  10. "Embracing the Styx" - 8:19
  11. "Solitude" - 5:58 (Bonus track on digipak)
  12. "At the Gallows End" - 5:22 (Bonus track on digipak)
For those of us that like Doom Metal this is probably, in my opinion, one of the best out there although Epicus Doomicus Metallicus is still the number one in my list.

Even though I feel it goes a little faster this time and that solos could be avoided, yet again my opinion, it all gives it some really nice flavor to this album. The bonus solitude song is a really nice addition to the album but again, I'd rather have my music in that crude state in which you find the first Candlemass album.

All in all the general Doom theme is ever present in this malevolent album and even if you're not into Doom you still may want to check it out since there may be a thing or two you could end up liking here.

No comments:

Post a Comment